top of page
mythalsmallvallaslin.png
mythalsmallvallaslin.png
mythalsmallvallaslin.png
mythalsmallvallaslin.png
  • Writer's pictureSaria

What Dragon Age means to Me:

Updated: Jun 4, 2022




To be honest, it's really hard for me to write such a personal topic compared to most of my videos. You guys know I make serious, or funny stuff, and while this is a 'serious' topic, it's coming from my heart...


To say a video game is life-changing almost sounds a little dramatic, I mean, what evolved around me playing this I cannot say for most people out there, but it did a lot for me.


I was around 16 at the time I had heard of Dragon Age, and no, I did not think it was for me. I was highly into Skyrim modding, Elder Scrolls lore, and particularly, I liked staying within that bubble, it gave me comfort, as most certain games did around my teens.


Not getting too personal here around other situations I was in, but I seemed to need a lot of comfort in getting lost in vast worlds, and escaping to a safe place in the video gaming genre. Growing up from adolescence to adult-hood, made me feel scared and isolated from the rest of the world.


I guess what I am trying to say is that Dragon Age helped me to become a voice within myself, I saw these characters that could do the unthinkable, and I wanted the same within my life as well.


These voices gave me opinions of right and wrong, choices with consequences, heart-breaking moments, and I felt almost intact with each and every one of my characters, yet, they were diverse in their beliefs. It felt truly comforting to see more than just my world all the time.


The basis of me entering the world of Thedas really intrigued me, there is so many laws and regulations within the lore, it was so well established, and I became lost into many rabbit holes many of you probably have watched already. And although I like to think I understand half of it, most of the lore leaves me with questions more than I had expected before.


However, I did have a struggle within myself, as I said earlier, I was battling with growing into myself, and finding a place to hold on to. I didn't believe in anything I did anymore, but I felt like Dragon Age showed me a clear image of what it was like to fight for your rights and wrongs in a battle within yourself, or with others as well...


Dragon Age gives me many feelings, but here are my top ones: Companionship, Inclusivity, Loyalty, and Justice. Without those foundations, I would have not realized my problems personally, more than I did without touching this game.


So yes, Dragon Age has changed my life drastically, and I'd like to say for the best, I have met friends, fans, artists, my fiance, and most importantly, I finally found myself.


Happy Dragon Age day Thedosians, I hope you all enjoy it, please feel free to comment below about what Dragon Age means to you, I would love to hear your stories too. And we have hit 2k subscribers now! I really appreciate your guys' comments, likes and shares throughout my journey here on YouTube, and I hope to continue to do so, this all wouldn't be possible without the love and support you guys have given me.


Thank you so much, and Happy Dragon Age Day.

0 comments

Comments


mythalsmallvallaslin.png
mythalsmallvallaslin.png
mythalsmallvallaslin.png
mythalsmallvallaslin.png
bottom of page