top of page
mythalsmallvallaslin.png
mythalsmallvallaslin.png
mythalsmallvallaslin.png
mythalsmallvallaslin.png
  • Writer's pictureSaria

Zelda: Breath of the Wild Sequel Discussion and lore analysis

Updated: Jun 4, 2022





Hello and welcome back to my channel, as I discussed on a video I previously made that was Zelda related, or for those of you who are new, I am now creating content for the Zelda franchise. And since we have this trailer released from E3 Nintendo's showcase, my my have we got a lot going on here.


So let get straight up into it - in the first part we have some sort of green miasma glowing in the air, which actually makes strange symbols and emulating some sort of power we haven;t really seen before in a Zelda franchise. It glows in a sort of cyclone sort of way, and it's source comes out of what looks like something we shall see in the next part of scenes.


The next scene goes onto a torch glowing on a wall, and I have to freeze it and zoom in a little bit to actually see some sort of manifestation of what looks like to be depicted of what I would imagine as Ganon in his human form on a stead. Kind of reminds me of the famous scene of Ganon on his horse in Link's nightmare in OoT.


He kind of has some sort of general position, with a hand raised, if this is the sequel to the BotW series, I'm actually guessing we are probably seeing some back story to Calamity Ganon, which is actually awesome, because there wasn't much backstory remaining on Ganon, in most Zelda games, Ganon is pretty much dead centre as one of the other characters that does get some backstory. So I'm hoping that theres more of these hieroglyphics throughout what looks like the cave wall.


Now we get into a little closer scene on the glowing green miasma cyclone, and what looks like to be a circular platform, it almost at a glance looks to be a tree stump, but maybe that's just because of the edges look almost of a tree.


You can see in a little more of detail for this green magic that theres actual symbols created, now I tend to not look into much of what they look like language wise, but I haven't seen anything that emulates that, except for Sheikah power and even to the extent of twilight power we've seen in other games, but lets move on.


Surrounding the green magic is the familiar blighted and corrupt magic we have saw with calamity Ganon and in the corrupt Gaurdians throughout Breath of the Wild, so it almost reminds me of the time in Twlight princess and most other games in releasing the master sword, or the rune in the Sealed Grounds in SS, that there's always a darker power when released from a divine/higher power. So I'm guessing that this state of what we are seeing is the same of the action of sealing some dark power against a divine power.


Now in the next scene we see is Zelda riding on a huge bull or oxen into these ruins, I mean I'm excited, what the heck Zelda and Link are on an adventure! I'm already sold on this dynamic already!


Another thing to take in note is these glowing stones look a lot of resemblance to those time stones in SS, but hey, maybe I'm overthinking it!


Now we have short haired Zelda (super cute, ngl) and link looking upon this figure around this sort of sealed magic leaking with dark energy throughout the deep liar. The platform underneath this figure actually seems a lot more of that dark energy seeping out from under this figure. So yeah, there's definitely some evil things going on here!


Also, they have nice cute capes, loving the art there, okay now moving on...


They drinking from the water, cute, this place looks definitely underground Hyrule somewhere...


And then we see this dark magic enveloping this poor little rat of some sort of stairs. And this underground bridge, with trying to get the oxen through the gap, maybe they struggle and can't bring him along?


Now if we kind of listen to the music along side with this fluedly, it actually sorts like the sound effect of a heart beat, and then this song sounds super backwards. Now I know a lot of Zelda games, or at least what I can rememeber is that Skyward Sword's main theme backwards is actually supposed to be Zelda's lullaby, so I'm sure someone out there has already posted this in reverse. I'm wondering what it sounds like backwards!


Now this scene we get a frontal veiw of what Zelda and Link are seeing, we see this figure leaning/arching back from this hand looking pointed down towards this macabre figurine. It's all super mysterious and creepy with this whole theme, and I'm actually loving that side that most Zelda games bring in, happy to see BotW is taking that side too!


If you look closely as well, theres these rock formations with whiteish circles that actually remind me of Twilight Princess and the light sages, so is there that kind of same power at work here as well?


And now here's the good part, a closer veiw of this skeletal figure, this has got to be Ganon. The red hair, theres that jewlery and on his garb of that Gerudo symbol most noticebaly. I, without a doubt, believe that this is the humunoid Ganon for sure. Now, he actually looks like he was chained up by something? He has shackles on his arms, was he by chance, locked up underground? That could explain the huge difference of many Ganons, since this one looks deprived and pretty skeletal.


Then we see this glowing hand on the pit of his chest. This hand has got me speculating all around, now at first, it looks like it's digging into Ganon's or the macabre's figure and pulling something out? I mean the angle that it's showing, alomst looks like its pulling him upwards and ascending somewhere....


Then there's this arm piece on this glowing hand that has got me pretty concerned on what it resembles, I haven't really seen anything like it, is it something to do with maybe like one of the Goddess' hands? It just reminds me of what looks like to be of either a Sheikah looking peice, or maybe even like Hylians style of wearing those arm pieces she's known for. But that's as far as I can go on that one...


And then we see Link is now absorbing those divine power onto the right hand! Uh oh, what does that mean gameplay wise? Is this hand going to make him super strong? I mean, we do know that Link in Breath of the Wild is right handed, so hmmmmmm, maybe we are going to restore the Master Sword? I really hope so, but it doesn't look like Link's enjoying absorbing that power.


Now since this was absorbed, it looks like the dark energy has been released, and it's reaching the rooftop of this cave foundation, kind of what looks like to be the sort of technology the Sheikah use for the Gaurdians? Maybe what we saw in fighting against Ganon?


Then we see Link and Zelda reaching to each other's hands, some sort of entrance to where they are in this ruin? And now, we see this hand actually has these creepy nails and almost now resembles Ganon's hand? Maybe it's one of the Sheikah monks that sealed Ganon's humanoid form taking hold of Link to pass it on?


Then we see some creepy back-shadow of what looks like someone casting out to Ganon, maybe trying to take the dark energy, or maybe some sort of power like they did in Twilight Princess?


Then it looks like the foundation of the ruins are collapsing, Zelda, looking at the figure's hand, as it slightly and creepily moves it's finger. Zelda turning and looking shocked, maybe looking back at the figure? Then some color back into Ganons, hair, and now, he has awakened!


And then in the next scene, freaking Hyrule looks like it's about to ascend up into the sky! I mean, what the heck, thats Skyward Sword all over again!!!


Then we hear a heartbeat, with the green glow, maybe it's resembling both Links heartbeat and now Ganon being awakened?


Oh my gosh guys, I mean the fact that this is in the works got me excited. I'll be honest, I was dying to see more Zelda/Link action for Breath of the Wild, because that would make the game so much more enticing, in which I thought they lacked with the whole companion part. But man, I actually cannot wait to see what's to come for this sequel.


Now honestly, I think it's just an expansion service they might pull, at least that's what I would imagine. If its a whole new game, I have no idea what would change open-world wise. So maybe it's just an expansion or content they add to the game once finished?


But anyways, that's the end of this video, and hope you enjoyed my thoughts and discussion on this lil teaser trailer Nintendo pulled. What do you guys think? Tell me all your theories and questions below, and I would love to discuss them with you. If you're new to my channel, I will be trying to make more Zelda content often, so stay tuned and maybe even subscribe and like this video if you enjoyed it as much as I did. Again, thank you for watching, and I'll see you in the next video!

0 comments

Comments


mythalsmallvallaslin.png
mythalsmallvallaslin.png
mythalsmallvallaslin.png
mythalsmallvallaslin.png
bottom of page